Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days, pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Kensington and Chelsea (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - - ***

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated September 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea(3). The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Kensington and Chelsea (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 17th February 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014.

(3) In this article, "ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(4).

⁽**1**) 2009 c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽³⁾ The London borough of Kensington and Chelsea has Royal borough status.

 ^{(4) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Wards of the Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea and number of councillors

2.—(1) The existing wards of the Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea are abolished.

(2) The Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea is divided into 18 wards, each listed by name in the first column of the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

(6) In this article, "map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Kensington and Chelsea (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE

Article 2

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Abingdon	3
Brompton & Hans Town	3
Campden	3
Chelsea Riverside	3
Colville	3
Courtfield	3
Dalgarno	2
Earl's Court	3
Golborne	3
Holland	3
Norland	2
Notting Dale	3
Pembridge	2
Queen's Gate	3
Redcliffe	3
Royal Hospital	3
St. Helen's	2
Stanley	3

Names of wards and number of councillors

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea and replaces them with 18 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/ all-reviews/south-east/greater-london/kensington-and-chelsea-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Kensington and Chelsea Council, The Town Hall, Hornton Street, London W8 7NX and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.