STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3267

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Suffolk) Order 1998

Made - - - - 1998

Coming into force - - 1st January 1999

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Service Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Suffolk) Order 1998 and shall come into force on 1st January 1999.
- **2.** For that part of the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(2) which relates to the Suffolk Probation Area(3) there shall be substituted the following:

(1) Petty Sessions Area	(2) Probation Area	(3) Number of justices on probation committee
Deben	Suffolk	1
Haverhill and Sudbury		2
Ipswich		2
North East Suffolk		2
North West Suffolk		1
St Edmundsbury and Stowmarket		2

3. The two members of the Suffolk Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1999 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Haverhill and Sudbury shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of Haverhill and Sudbury(4).

^{(1) 1993} c. 47.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which was amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

³⁾ The part relating to Suffolk was amended by S.I. 1988/612, 1993/3139, 1994/3315 and 1996/930.

⁽⁴⁾ The new petty sessions areas of Haverhill and Sudbury and of St Edmundsbury and Stowmarket were consituted by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Suffolk) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2225).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

4. The two members of the Suffolk Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1999 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of St Edmundsbury and Stowmarket shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of St Edmundsbury and Stowmarket(4).

Home Office 22nd December 1998

Paul Boateng Minister of State

The new petty sessions areas of Haverhill and Sudbury and of St Edmundsbury and Stowmarket were consituted by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Suffolk) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2225).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 (S.I.1986/1713) to take account of the amalgamation of petty sessions areas in Suffolk. Haverhill and Sudbury are amalgamated into the new petty sessions area of Haverhill and Sudbury. St Edmundsbury and Stowmarket are amalgamated into the new petty sessions area of St Edmundsbury and Stowmarket. The amalgamations are effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Suffolk) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2225), the relevant provisions of which come into force on 1st January 1999.