SCHEDULE 5

Assembly election rules

PART 3

Contested elections

The poll

Admission to polling station

- **41.**—(1) The presiding officer shall exclude all persons from the polling station except—
 - (a) voters;
 - (b) persons under the age of 18 who accompany voters to the polling station;
 - (c) the candidates and the election agents of any constituency or individual candidates or in relation to any registered political party standing nominated, the election agent of such party in respect of the list it has submitted;
 - (d) the polling agents appointed to attend at the polling station;
 - (e) the clerks appointed to attend the polling station;
 - (f) persons who are entitled to attend by virtue of any of sections 6A to 6D of the 2000 Political Parties Act(1);
 - (g) the constables on duty; and
 - (h) the companions of voters with disabilities.
- (2) The presiding officer shall regulate the total number of voters and persons under the age of 18 who accompany them to be admitted to the polling station at the same time.
- (3) Not more than one party list candidate from the same party list submitted by a registered political party shall be admitted at the same time to a polling station.
- (4) Not more than one polling agent shall be admitted at the same time to a polling station on behalf of the same constituency or individual candidate or on behalf of the same registered political party.
- (5) A constable or person employed by a constituency or regional returning officer shall not be admitted to vote in person elsewhere than at his own polling station under the relevant provision of this Order, except on production and surrender of a certificate as to his employment, which shall be in form CB set out in Schedule 10 and signed by an officer of police of the rank of inspector or above or by the returning officer, as the case may be.
 - (6) Any certificate surrendered under this rule shall forthwith be cancelled.

1

⁽¹⁾ Sections 6A to 6D of the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 were inserted by section 29 of the Electoral Administration Act 2006 (c. 22).