STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2024 No. 157

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The North Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2024

Made - - - 16th February 2024 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated October 2023(3) stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for North Northamptonshire. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the North Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2024.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2024.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2024;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(4) in 2025.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-northamptonshire.

⁽⁴⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the North Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2024", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of North Northamptonshire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of North Northamptonshire are abolished.
- (2) North Northamptonshire is divided into the 31 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Parish wards of the parishes of Barton Seagrave, Corby, Kettering Town, Rushden, and Wellingborough and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes of Barton Seagrave, Corby, Kettering Town, Rushden and Wellingborough are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Barton Seagrave is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Corby is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Kettering Town is divided into the nine parish wards listed in the first column of Table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Rushden is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of Table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Wellingborough is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (8) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

⁽⁵⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-northamptonshire.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



16th February 2024

Ailsa Irvine
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3
Wards of North Northamptonshire and number of councillors

(1) Name of ward	(2) Number of councillors
Avondale Grange	1
Barton Seagrave & Burton Latimer	3
Brickhill & Queensway	3
Corby West	3
Croyland & Swanspool	2
Desborough	3
Earls Barton	2
Finedon	1
Geddington & Stanion	1
Gretton & Weldon	2
Hatton Park	3
Higham Ferrers	2
Irchester	3
Irthlingborough	2
Ise	2
Kettering Central	2
Kettering North	2
Kingswood	3
Lloyds & Corby Village	2
Oakley	3
Oundle	3
Pemberton	2
Pipers Hill	1
Raunds	3
Rothwell & Mawsley	3
Rushden Lakes	2
Rushden South	2
St Michael	1
St Peter	1
Thrapston	3
Victoria	2

SCHEDULE 2 Article 4

Name of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1

Parish wards of the parish of Barton Seagrave

(1) Name of parish ward	(2) Number of councillors
Barton Town	7
Constable Drive	1

Table 2
Parish wards of the parish of Corby

(1) Name of parish ward	(2) Number of councillors	
Corby West	5	
Kingswood	4	
Lloyds	3	
Oakley	5	

Table 3

Parish wards of the parish of Kettering Town

(1) Name of parish ward	(2) Number of councillors	
Avondale Grange	2	
Hanwood Park	1	
Ise Lodge	3	
Kettering Central	4	
Kettering North	3	
Pipers Hill	2	
St Michael	2	
St Peter	2	
Wicksteed	1	

Table 4

Parish wards of the parish of Rushden

(1) Name of parish ward	(2) Number of councillors	
Donne Close	1	
Pemberton	7	
	5	

(1) Name of parish ward	(2) Number of councillors
Prospect Avenue	1
Rushden Lakes	6
Rushden South	6

Table 5

Parish wards of the parish of Wellingborough

(1) Name of parish ward	(2) Number of councillors	
Brickhill & Queensway	7	
Croyland & Swanspool	5	
Hatton Park	7	
Victoria	4	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the unitary authority of North Northamptonshire ("the Authority") following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. This Order does not change the boundary of the Authority itself.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of North Northamptonshire and replaces them with 31 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2025. It establishes the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards that are consequential on the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-northamptonshire.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.